Testimonials

We had a private session with Terry in our home for our Great Dane puppy. We are highly recommend it! Terry was able to see our puppy behavior and showed us how to correct it. He talked to us about different things and went far and beyond to explaining things to us. It took our little guy just a couple of days to figure out that short leash means just for walking slow and long leash for play. It is amazing what a right kind of leash can do for your puppy! We will definitely be back if we have more concerns and highly recommend Terry!

– Elena Foulks

We are so pleased with Terry and the progress he made with Boone. We have been shocked with his change in behavior after only two short weeks. We know that we will have to keep it going now that he is home but that has been made so much easier by the foundation that Terry built. I wholeheartedly recommend Terry and his program to anyone who is looking for a good training foundation to build upon!

– Jodi Whitfield

Can’t say enough good about Terry and what he does! Our 2 year old Doberman stayed with him for a week about a month ago and the results are phenomenal! He had a laundry list of issues when we dropped him off and today, he is truly a different dog. We get so many compliments on him from people that knew him before his training. Something Terry told us is that training will have to continue once you get home but he equips you to know how to keep it going. I would recommend West TN K9 over and over again! Thank you Terry!

– Justin, Lauren, and Maverick Montgomery

“Best $ I have spent on training myself and my dogs. My “type A,” high strung miniature schnauzer became docile and eager to please in under 30 minutes. Terry is a great teacher and offers simple techniques that make an immediate difference. Get his help before you try another book, trainer, or class.

– Theresa Cook

My dog was 7 months old when purchased from the breeder and had no socialization. Only people who could get near her was our family. Terry took her for two weeks and has done wonders with her. I was able to walk her around our employees with no problems. Allen and I will be recommending him to all of our friends and family.

Since she will be at work with us we will be sending her back for additional training. Nothing but the best for our girl!

– Lucy Slaughter Black

“I sent my dog Willow for a week of training. She has learned to listen, not jump, and walk on a leash. She is doing great and I am so happy with the results!!

– Katherine Foster

“We took our 15 month old German Shepherd to see Terry. He was amazing! We had issues with walking on a leash, nipping, jumping, listening, basically everything. It was so bad we had to just put her in the back yard, which she destroyed. This is a dog who ate a heat lamp, and a heater, would just stare at her dog house and bark for hours. Stubborn beyond anything I had ever seen. And had recently developed a severe aggressiveness and attachment to me. She wouldn’t even let my kid near me. It became a safety issue. A five day board and train with West TN K-9…. my seven year old son who was once terrified of his dog, now walks her on a leash. She listens, most of the time. We are able to take her in public, she lives most of her time wandering around our house or sitting on “place” and has learned how to dog. We were even able to take her to the groomer! Words cannot express how grateful we are for finding West TN K-9. A dog that everyone thought was insane, aggressive, wild. Now has manners. We are still working over her protectiveness of me, but she no longer is aggressive towards others. He’s amazing!!! Highly, highly recommend!!

– Mallory Hickman

“Wow! Terry did such an amazing job with our chocolate lab Cam. He is a very excited and friendly puppy and as he gets bigger he was getting harder to control. He would jump on people and just become almost out of control when people came over. After a week with Terry he is still the same friendly dog but he now knows boundaries and manners. Before this it was unfathomable to think he could not jump on anyone or remain in one place for more than a few seconds. Now he listens and stays in place for long periods of time. The greatest thing is that he is controlling his excitement with new people and things. Thank you so much for everything!

– Paul Wyatt

“Terry is awesome and a great trainer. Posts so much free good content even if hiring a Trainer is out of budget, he makes it easy for people at home to work with their pets.

– Corey McDaniel

“Good morning! We are so pleased with our boy! Thank you so much! I am so glad we brought him to you! We had a great night and an even better morning this morning! He fell back asleep on place while we ate breakfast & we had sweet loving time before getting ready to head off to school!!!! Praying that this will be our new normal!!!
You’re amazing and the best dog trainer in the whole wide world!!!!

– Dawn Harvey Hunter

  • review rating 5  Our dog bear would pull while on leash, ignore us if we set him in a certain place and would jump on everybody with excitement. After our first visit, literally after 2 hours he was an entirely different dog! He's been in training for a week now and he won't jump on anyone, stays in his place when told, it is so easy to actually go on a walk with him now!!! He's even great with not wanting to rush to play with other dogs unless we say it's ok! To anyone considering this training I promise it's worth the money and Mr. Terry and his staff are fantastic!!! You will not regret this training!!!

    thumb brian vanhooser
    3/12/2020

    review rating 5  Terry was absolutely wonderful with my dog, Nash. We had some issues with his leash manners and cat chasing. By the end of an hour long session, Nash was walking wonderfully on his leash and I had all of the tools needed to continue training at home and keep working on his behavior. I will absolutely recommend him to anyone that needs help with their dog. Update: I got my own training collar for dog this past week and was able to implement the things we learned in our session. Within a few minutes, I could tell he remembered his lesson with Terry, and he was responding to me and engaging with me on our walk. We will be back, and I will still be recommending him to anyone who needs a little help with their dog!

    thumb Virginia Kerr
    8/23/2018

    review rating 5  Terry's team ready take great pride in seeing the finished product of see how they can change both the dog and there owners life style with the training they provide. They make you feel like family!!! The go home session was great!!! they took time to explain every step of the training process to help the us (owners) understand. I have and will recommend them again!!!! Thanks!! West TN - K9 for helping us with Piper !!!!!

    thumb Donnie Hutto
    12/03/2019

    review rating 5  Terry and his staff are top notch! They took excellent care of our 2 golden doodle puppies. In one week of intensive training they were able to teach our rambunctious out of control puppies how to behave not only on the leash but also within our household. We highly recommend West Tennessee K9!!!!

    thumb J R
    4/07/2020

    review rating 5  Terry and his team did a great job with my 2 yr old doberman Riggs, along with helping me to realize the things I had been not doing well as an owner. Riggs did the 5 day board and train, and I couldn't be happier with the results. His impulse control was one of the biggest issues, and West TN K9 made drastic improvements along with several other areas that needed some work. I will definitely recommend Terry, and will continue to utilize West TN K9 for any of my training needs

    thumb J Beck
    1/13/2020
  • review rating 5  My dog recently went to West Tn K9's two week board and train. She had a lot of obedience problems. She would bark and pull on the leash every time we went on walks or being taken out. She didn't understand "stop", constantly had to be the center of attention, barked at any other dog or unknown person, full of energy and had tons of anxiety. Since her training, she doesn't have to be the center of attention, and responds well to my commands. She is awesome on a leash and lets walks be enjoyable. She is still playful and hyper, but she understands her boundaries now. Highly recommend West Tn K9!

    thumb Megan Bramlett
    9/18/2018

    review rating 5  Our 11-month-old Great Pyrenees was having issues with basic behaviors such as walks (always pulling hard), greetings (jumping and nipping) or even obeying simple commands. Having talked with Terry, we enrolled Oakley in a one-week Base Line Board and Train. Terry had a chore since his student was semi-aggressive, stubborn and over 100 lbs. He trains with a careful balance of correction and positive conditioning which he then shares with you upon your pets’ graduation. We did not expect a new dog in a week, but what we did get was an amazing foundation that we can build upon. The change in behaviors was astounding. She would sit and stay, greeted us without trampling and would walk by our side without even having to say a command. After her class, she was a better-behaved animal. This allowed us to then take the education she received, and really enjoy our loving pet. We honestly are already so much happier, even at day one of her return. The classes are only a part of the process since Terry also provides plenty of support to help you maintain your pets behavior. It is not just a class for your pet, it's a life style remodeling that you will not regret. I would recommend West Tennessee K9 for anyone that wishes a positive change for your pet and family. Thank you Terry for sharing your skills with us.

    thumb Craig Fowlar
    9/20/2018

    review rating 5  Terry did a great job with my 2 year old pup! She had no impulse control and was slowly losing her willingness to listen to me at all. He gave her the training she needed to be able to control her impulses and urges and stay calm enough to focus on me. And he gave me all the tools I needed to keep up her work at home! I’m so excited to have my sweet-loving, fun dog back!

    thumb Taylor Nelson
    2/16/2020

    review rating 5  I wanted a training program that was customized to my dog and to what our family needed. I chose Terry because he offered that and because he has experience training high drive dogs. I have a very high drive European Boxer and needed a trainer who was comfortable training that type of personality. The results were nothing short of amazing. Terry met with us and our dog to discuss and evaluate our needs and then he delivered 100%. So far, we have done a couple of board and trains to work on different issues. I now have an amazing Boxer who will stay calmly on his "place" when friends and family come over, while we eat, while young kids are playing loudly in the next room. I can and do take him to my high rise office building in an elevator filled with strangers without any issues whatsoever. I have owned Boxers for more than 20 years and I have never had a Boxer that didn't jump excitedly on every person that walked in the door. Monarch is a special dog but it was Terry's expertise that brought out the very best in him. I could not be more pleased and I can say he is my go-to trainer for all future training needs.

    thumb Brandy ParrishWade
    8/27/2018

    review rating 5  Terry and his staff are in the right line of work. You can tell from the moment you interact with them that they want both your pet and your family to succeed and they have the tangible and easy to use tools to do it!! We are amazed by how easy and comprehensive their methods are. Not only did we receive the puppy basic course we also received so much education to take with us and the ability to reach out to them before, during and after our pups week of training. They are a wealth of knowledge and truly have a passion for bringing peace back into a families home one well behaved dog at a time. We will forever recommend West TN K9! Worth every penny.

    thumb Mikenzie Rose
    1/10/2020
  • review rating 5  West TN K9 staff and training are awesome!!! They genuinely care about the dogs and their families. They work closely with you in setting up your training and help you through the process and make it as easy as possible. Then they show you everything you need to continue the training at home and help you build on the training going forward. 100% Satisfied!!!

    thumb Denice Atkins
    3/02/2020

    review rating 5  We adopted a 20 month old bully pit mix to go with our 2yr old bully pit mix rescue. Our Rowdy was full of energy, loved jumping on us to love, Basically still puppy behavior. We sent Rowdy and our new Rico to Terry for 5 days. Unbelievable! Rowdy now is calm in the house, no more jumping for love, and really just minds better. Rico is coming along great. New house, new smells, new family are a little overwhelming sometimes. But, he too will lay calmly on his place. We have to continue to reinforce Terry’s training, But this was money well spent. Both dogs are so well behaved. We are very pleased with the training Terry gave.

    thumb Jim Reedy
    8/15/2018

    review rating 5  Hard-working, knowledgable, and kind staff! I have continued to be amazed by the progress Terry and his staff make with the animals they train. More personally, I could not be happier with the progress they made with my 1-year old GSD. She is more disciplined, obedient, and responds quickly to commands all while remaining my same loving girl with a big personality. Although the price may make people hesitant, I assure you it is 100% worth it! Whatever improvements you want to make in your pet, West Tennessee K9 can help.

    thumb Rebecca Wahrmund
    5/02/2020

    review rating 5  Awesome results. It was like bringing home a completely different dog. Terry explains everything really well during the to go session and gives thorough reading materials as well as links to instructive videos. We realized that we changed our entire lives to revolve around a naughty pup instead of him fitting into our household. No more! Now we can all enjoy the companionship of our new family member. 😃

    thumb Matthew Rohrs
    4/04/2020

    review rating 5  Just got married and merged homes. My wife’s sweet pup has always slept with her and my pups with me. After marriage, we desired to have a pup free bed. For 7 weeks, one was still crying in his kennel and no sleep for us. Terry was amazing and in 2 hours taught us technics to keep our dog in a kennel at night vs our bed and the last 2 nights we sleep !!!!!

    thumb Rob Crump
    2/14/2020